Return to Headlines

OAHS Sports Wall of Fame Induction

Oxford Area High School Sports Wall of Fame Class of 2018

Oxford Area High School held the 18th annual Sports Wall of Fame Induction on October 15, honoring outstanding student-athletes and community supporters from throughout the history of OAHS sports. Each inductee received a commemorative plate from Lancaster County Redware courtesy of Shirley Hess, and a photograph of the group will be permanently displayed in the high school.

Since its establishment in 2001, the high school has held a reception and induction ceremony each fall which is free and open to the community.

sports wall of fame class of 2018

Pictured from left are 2018 Sports Wall of Fame inductees Greg Deaver, Nicholas Ruggear, John C. Lilley, Sean Harvey and Jaclyn Kulesza Herr. Nicolle Blaesser Monette is not pictured.

 Greg Deaver, Class of 1974

greg deaver

Mr. Deaver with Sports Wall of Fame host Ken Woodward

In 1974 Mr. Deaver was a varsity wrestling champion at the sectional and district levels and earned second place at regionals. Serving as captain, he helped lead that year's team to the league championship.

In soccer, Mr. Deaver led the varsity in scoring his senior year and was named team MVP. He was selected as a Philadelphia Bulletin Scholar Athlete in 1974.

Nicolle Blaesser Monette, Class of 2003

Mrs. Monette earned all-district and all-state honors in cross-country, placing seventh in the state. In track and field she was a state qualifier in the 3,200 meters.

At Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Mrs. Monette was the 2007 PSAC East Regional cross-country champion and was named an NCAA Division II All-American. She was also a 2007 Academic All-American and was that year's IUP Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Jaclyn Kulesza Herr, Class of 2004

jaclyn herr

In field hockey, Mrs. Herr was named to the All-Southern Chester County League First Team for three seasons. She was named 2004 team MVP.

At Millersville University, Mrs. Herr was named Rookie of the Year and led the field hockey team in goals and assists in all of her four years. She holds the university's record for most goals scored in a game at four, and was named to the All-PASC Second Team in her sophomore, junior and senior years.

Nicholas Ruggear, Class of 2010

nick ruggear

In wrestling Mr. Ruggear was a three-time section champion and three-time state qualifier, bringing home a third place medal on one of his trips to states.

Mr. Ruggear logged 131 victories in his high school career and was named 2010 Ches-Mont League Wrestler of the Year. As a senior he was ranked fifth in the United States.

At Penn State, Mr. Ruggear earned four varsity letters and four Big Ten championships, and helped the Nittany Lions to four national championships. He also received the Big Ten's Distinguished Scholar Award.

Sean Harvey

sean harvey

Mr. Harvey guided the boys' varsity basketball team to a 223-112 record during his tenure as head coach. He was a four-time conference Coach of the Year and was named The Philadelphia Inquirer Coach of the Year in 2004.

Between 2004 and 2014 Mr. Harvey's teams were ranked among the best in the state and qualified for the PIAA playoffs four times. He coached four conference Players of the Year during his career at OAHS.

John C. Lilley

john lilley

Mr. Lilley was a clock operator at Hornet athletic events for 44 years, and manned the clock for the Oxford Golden Bears as well. He also was clock operator at countless district and sectional wrestling tournaments.

Previous Sports Wall of Fame Inductees


Ray Stata, Class of 1953

Judy Shoop, Class of 1976

Shawn Jones, Class of 1990

Craig Mahon, Class of 1999

Meredith Dolinger Hostetter, Class of 2005


Jack Melrath, Class of 1955

Susan Burke Mast, Class of 1959

Dana E. Dreibelbis, Class of 1974

Karen A. Doss Barlow, Class of 1982

Erin Arrowood Fidler, Class of 2002

The Hess Family


Vernon M. Ringler, Class of 1953

Richard Gary Cummings, Class of 1954

Scott Fowler, Class of 1981

Beth Jackson Lynch, Class of 1981

Ryan Bogan, Class of 2005

Karly Herb, Class of 2008

Thomas Grugan, Coach


George "Buddy" Cochran, Class of 1949

Dave Hons, Class of 1980

Sherri Jackson Griffith, Class of 1983

Dayna Baily, Class of 1987

Lisa Marie (Rozich) Stoltzfus, Class of 1998

Julie Orner Donell, Class of 2000


Kathryn "Kitty" Jamison Aylsworth, Class of 1935

Alma Doyle Barton, Class of 1974

Janine Collins Pavese, Class of 1983

Jamie Canaday, Class of 1994

Kimberly Vaughn Stout, Class of 1996

Meghan Tait, Class of 2008


Dr. Anthony Bering, Oxford Sports Boosters Founder

Scott Gold II, Coach

Richard Jones, Class of 1974

Mark Hall, Class of 1975

Allison Hostetter, Class of 2007

Ashley Palmer, Class of 2007


Donald Bailey, Class of 1948

Richard Farmer, Class of 1971

Bernie Hostetter, Class of 1980

Leigh Ann Brown Ennis, Class of 1989

Clyde and Shirley Hubley, Supporters


Doug Woodworth, Class of 1935

Ralph Dutton, Class of 1946

June Johnston, Class of 1980

Kelli Ward, Class of 2004

Jarrett Hostetter, Class of 2005


C. Paul "Dutch" Jamison, Class of 1938

Joan Bernhang Waldbaumm, Class of 1948

Allan Hardy, Class of 1955

Kim Tatum Robbins, Class of 1978

Martin Sumner, Class of 1992

Ben Blevins, Class of 1996


Palmer "Peck" Watkins, Class of 1946

Pat Owens McCardell, Class of 1960

John Peter Wolf, Jr., Class of 1966

Drew Eckman, Class of 2003

Josh Weitzel, Class of 2003


J. Marshall Thompson, Sr., Teacher, Principal and Coach, 1925-56

Joe Thompson, Class of 1944

Barbara Rogers, Class of 1957

Sam Webster, Class of 1962

Robert Nelson, Class of 1963

Kimberly Kilby McCardell, Class of 1981

Antoinette Gomez, Class of 1990


Dale Melrath

Robert Pepple

Carolyn Rozich Sedora

Bob Stahlman

Donna Kinslow Wells

Dave Williams


George Bea

Barry Hostetter

Josianne Lauber

Pat Mosley

Liz Mason Thun


Nathan Burroughs

Susan Pepple Greer

John Hostetter

John Noonan

Bill Ringler


James Aylsworth

Bill Bard

Donna Draper-Gray

David Neff

Hans Olsen

Timothy Robinson


Benny Bond

Judy James Davis

Scott S. Gold III

Ken Howett

Paul Poole


Bill Bea

Francis Coates

Jonna Jackson Davis

Donald Dyer

Eileen Draper Jones

Dan Kilby

Horatio Viscount "Berky" Nelson

Charles Peterson

Doug Sersun

Josh Stanley