Return to Headlines

Hopewell Turkey Trot

hopewell turkey trot

The health and physical education department at Hopewell Elementary School recently hosted the eighth annual Thanksgiving Turkey Trot, with over 200 fifth and sixth grade students running a one-mile cross-country race around the school grounds. First place winners in each grade level received a gift card donated by the Oxford Parent Teacher Organization. The Hopewell staff donated several turkeys that were presented to race participants through a raffle.

Pictured with health and physical education teacher Erika Seaman, left; Assistant Principal Jason Soule, background; and Principal Dr. Nicole Addis, right; are the top five finishers in each division of the 2018 Hopewell Elementary School Turkey Trot. Front from left are fifth grade girls’ participants Emma McGlothin, course time 6:30; Elizabeth Penrose, 6:34; Lillia Fitzpatrick, 6:45; Annabell Brown, 6:53; and Abby Fraundorfer, 6:56; and fifth grade boys’ participants Sam Howell, 5:50; Wyatt Kupsey, 5:50:30; Brandon Martin, 6:08; Cameron Paris, 6:13; and Clark McPeak, 6:17. Standing from left are sixth grade girls participants Elise Lanier, 6:13; Anna Dewees,  6:54; Alaina Martin, 6:55; Katy Hererra Hurtado, 6:56; and Meredith Griffin, 6:57; and sixth grade boys participants Jayden Cosenso, 5:45; Aiden Kane, 5:51; Deandre Scott, 5:55; Landon McCoy, 5:57; and Kyle Roberts, 6:04.