Return to Headlines

National English Honor Society visits Jenner's Pond

national English honor society

Pictured from left are seniors Kate Lilly, National English Honor Society president, and Chloe Campbell, secretary; juniors Julianne Guerin and Kenna Mullins; sophomore Guadalupe Juarez, junior Gina Martinelli and Kate Russo, Jenner's Pond Manager of Life Enrichment.

On February 17, six members of the Oxford Area High School chapter of National English Honor Society visited residents of the Jenner's Pond Retirement Community. The students read poems by famous Black authors and others in honor of Black History Month.

The following students participated in the visit. They are listed with links to their recited poems.

Kate Lilly - "Caged Bird" by Maya Angelou, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48989/caged-bird "Morning Talk" by Roberta Hill Whiteman https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48660/morning-talk and "I Am Diversity" by Simma Lieberman https://simmalieberman.com/i-am-diversity-an-outstanding-poem/

Chloe Campbell - "The Fifth Fact" by Sarah Browning https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53009/the-fifth-fact ,"A Psalm for Emitt Till" by Renee Watson https://poets.org/poem/psalm-emmett-till and "Cento Between the Ending and the End" by Cameron Awkward-Rich https://poets.org/lesson-plan/teach-poem-cento-between-ending-and-end-cameron-awkward-rich

Julianne Guerin - "The New Colossus" by Emma Lazarus https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46550/the-new-colossus , "Liberty" by Edward Thomas https://poets.org/poem/liberty and "Freedom" by Helen Hunt Jackson https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/freedom-6/

Kenna Mullins - "Praise Song for the Day" by Elizabeth Alexander, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/52141/praise-song-for-the-day and "I Hear America Singing" by Walt Whitman https://poets.org/poem/i-hear-america-singing

Guadalupe Juarez - "Lift Every Voice and Sing" by James Weldon Johnson, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46549/lift-every-voice-and-sing "Violin" by Nikki Wallschlaeger https://poets.org/lesson-plan/teach-poem-violin-nikki-wallschlaeger and "I, Too" by Langston Hughes https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/47558/i-too

Gina Martinelli - "Still I Rise" by Maya Angelou https://poets.org/poem/still-i-rise