• 7th Grade English/Language Arts
    Pratt, Elizabeth epratt@oxfordasd.org Website
    Meyer, Megan mmeyer@oxfordasd.org Website
    Wiegner, Carol cwiegner@oxfordasd.org Website
    8th Grade English/Language Arts
    Hamburg, Kristin khamburg@oxfordasd.org Website
    Barnas, Joshua jbarnas@oxfordasd.org  Website
    Cross, Rebecca rcross@oxfordasd.org  Website

     

    The Penn’s Grove Language Arts curriculum includes a rigorous approach with an in-depth study and analysis of a wide range of literature including novels, short stories, poetry, drama and nonfiction.  The Language Arts department integrates the Pennsylvania Core Standards of craft and structure, key ideas and details, text analysis, integration of knowledge and ideas, and vocabulary acquisition and use. The teaching staff encourages students to critically think, independently read, effectively communicate with others and develop the essential vocabulary and grammatical skills necessary in meeting the Pennsylvania Core Standards. In the eighth grade, there is an emphasis on formal research.